Lakehurst Water and Sanitation District is located in Jefferson County, Colorado. The District, a political subdivision of the State of Colorado, is a Special District organized and created pursuant to the laws of the State of Colorado on September 7, 1962. It is a quasi-municipal corporation with the right to levy taxes. The irregular boundaries of the District encompass approximately 3,664 acres: West Hampden Avenue on the north, C-470 on the west, the east-west midline of W. Berry Avenue on the south and South Depew Street on the east.


Lakehurst Water and Sanitation District is governed by a five member Board of Directors, who are taxpayers within the District. They are elected by the property owners of the District to serve staggered four year terms. The Directors are responsible for establishing policies of the District and are responsible for overall operations.